Last few weeks have been very busy, Seba’s birthday, several other projects, the garden, very warm weather. But I finally managed to put the plants on the roof. It took me a couple of days preparation, the planting itself took place in one day. Which wasn’t a very pleasant day, it was 34ºC, standing on a black foil, putting black soil. I don’t think I’ve ever sweated more.

But it looks really good, I’m very pleased with it. The pictures don’t do it right, it looks much prettier in real life. I’m going to try to make some better pictures from above tomorrow.

The roof is made with 500 sedum plants, 600 liters of soil, and 300 kg of stones.

And right after puting all of this on the roof it was put to the test with a 100km/h rainstorm. And to my suprise it survived it. Unlike the roof of our house which is missing 2 tiles and has at least 8 broken tiles, and also some of the fences around the hous flew away. I was a bit nervous about the storm because the sedum stil has to get roots to bind te earth, but all went well.

